Peanut butter bread and green smoothies–in the Vitamix

Even though green smoothies are one of the main reasons I originally invested in a Vitamix sadly, I have only made 1 or 2 since I’ve owned my Vitamix since March of this year. Partly, because there are so many other delicious things that I have been making with my Vitamix, I truly have not had the time. Well, it’s getting to be the end of summer, and I thought that I had better start gorging on fresh fruits and vegetables. So, I thought I would make more green smoothies. I made one last weekend (did not take pictures) with grapes, banana, pineapple, apple, spinach and ice. I added no additional sweetener and it was delicious! Today, I decided to make another and remembered to take photos.

Today’s super smoothie ingredients: banana, orange, 1/2 carrot, 1/2 apple (peeled, no seeds), 1 c fresh pineapple, 1 big handful of fresh spinach, some grape tomatoes, 2 frozen strawberries, a few frozen peaches, and about 1 1/2 c ice.

Picture 093

I put everything into the Vitamix and used my tamper to blend it all.

Picture 096

I turned on the Vitamix (variable 1) and gradually increased to variable 10. Then, switched it to High. I made sure to blend it long enough that everything was well blended–but not long enough for the liquid to get warm. I blended for about 45 seconds to 1 minute. Here is the super smoothie in all its green glory!

Picture 097

I enjoyed my super green “juice” with my “boosted” instant noodles.

Picture 099

I forgot to buy breakfast items at the grocery store last night. After flipping through my Vitamix cookbook, I decided to make some peanut butter bread. It would give me a few days breakfasts and I could also vacuum-seal a few slices and send it to my sister in Afghanistan.

Here are the ingredients for Peanut butter bread in the Vitamix:

1 cup whole wheat flour

1 cup all-purpose flour

1 t salt

4 t baking soda

1 1/2 cupes of 1% milk or soy milk

1/3 c sugar

1/2 c natural peanut butter

Picture 083

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray a loaf pan with cooking spray.

Combine flours, salt and baking powder in a bowl and set aside.

Picture 086

Place milk, sugar and PB into the Vitamix container and secure lid.

Picture 087

Select variable 1 and turn on machine and quickly increase to variable 5. Blend for 20 seconds. Remove lid and add dry ingredients. Continue to blend for 10-20 seconds.

Picture 088

Pour into the prepared loaf pan. “Slam against counter a couple of times to release some air bubbles. Bake for 45-50 minutes.Picture 100

It was delicous–slightly dense, a moderate peanut butter flavor and not overly sweet. Hope my sister and her fellow soldiers enjoy!

Click on the Vitamix button below for free standard shipping on your Vitamix or use code 06-005573 at checkout.

One thought on “Peanut butter bread and green smoothies–in the Vitamix

  1. Man, that was one fantastic read. Do you create your
    own content or do you outsource it? I outsource the material on my webpage and by
    the appearance of this site, I may need to outsource some of
    it to you, hehe!

Leave a Reply

