tHiRtY before 30

Here is my list of the things I want to do before I turn 30.

Caveat: You must know that ever since I turned 25-ish, I have had a hard time admitting my age to people. I don’t know why because in no one’s book is mid-20’s considered “old”. To be honest, some of it must stem from insecurity. I guess sometimes I’m insecure about what I should have accomplished or experienced by age “x” and by admiting my age, I’m allowing people to judge whether or not I’m living up to that standard.  So, for me to put a post about turning 30 out “there” for all to see, is a BIG deal…but also is part of #30 on my list.

In following with the so-called theme of this blog, these are things that I want to do or try to make my life a little fuller. In reality, I know that the list is ambitious to try to do all of these things before my next birthday, which is in about 2 months, but that’s okay because that will just leave me more to do by my next birthday. Look for posts on some that have already been accomplished. And even though I haven’t completed this list, I’m also taking suggestions for next year’s list as well.

1. start a blog

2. become a Vitamix affiliate

3. start 3 good habits

4. learn how to knit

5. cleanse my facebook friends list

6. go rock climbing (again)

7. find a good (and easy and healthy) bread-from-scratch recipe

8. learn how to post a video on YouTube

9. say wedding vows in Chinese to R again (from memory…or at the very least, with better Chinese)

10. narrow down my baby name list to Top 10

11. start composting

12. make homemade soymilk

13. try zumba

14. run a 5K

15. make zong-zi from scratch

16. make homemade yogurt

17. pass my comprehensive exam

18. make ice cream without an ice cream machine

19. say “yes” to something I would normally say “no” to

20. say “no” to something I would normally say “yes” to

21. become a member of the PubMed club (check out 2 of my articles so far: Obesity in Older Adults and a commentary

22. eat a meal alone…in public…and without a book or laptop (or any other distraction)

23. learn how to count to 10 in 10 languages  revised: learn how to greet in 10 languages

24. eat 30 new foods

25. conquer my fear of guns

26. pull an all-nighter

27. learn how to write my name in Chinese (on-cue)

28. watch at least one movie from the Star Wars triology or the one of the Lord of the Rings movies

29. buy a Vapur anti-bottle

30. embrace turning thirty.

12 thoughts on “tHiRtY before 30

  1. Well, I have less than a week less to embrace 30. So, that is my one goal that maybe I will have fulfilled by then. 🙂

    I love you! You motivate me and make me want to do better!!

    • Happy early birthday! Hard to believe it was just yesterday that we were 17, driving down the road to Scooters to get our lunch. No, you motivate me with your ability to write in a way that makes me laugh and cry and want to read more all at the same time. I can’t wait to have cute stories about my kids that I can blog about too!

    • Gosh, it seems that this is the year that everyone is turning 30. Or maybe I’m just more sensitive since one of those is ME! You could still make a list, just make it easier things that you could do in one day! Although I loved your idea with “reconnecting” with your friends. I just might have to “steal” your great idea…of course if I did, you would be the first one I would call!

  2. 30 is younger than 40 😉 I get a quote for the day through my e-mail and yesterday is said, “After climbing a great hill, one only finds that there are many more hills to climb. –Nelson Mandela” I guess that can be taken as a bummer or inspirational =) Have a great day my friend!

  3. Lovin’ your blog! I think the 30 before 30 list is an awesome idea. Kind of like a bucket list for the younger generation. Wish I would have thought of it, myself! I’ll be turning 30 this upcoming Monday! We are getting old!!! Not really, I guess, but 30 is scary! I think I’ll just take the positive approach and be thirty, flirty, and thriving!!! At any rate, your blog is wonderful and thanks for sharing it with me! 🙂

    • Thanks for reading! Yeah, I guess my TB30 list is kinda like a younger generation’s bucket list. Never thought of it that way. Well, I was going to tell you to start one anyway, but 5 days doesn’t really give you much time to do anything. Well, I guess you’ll just have to start working on a TB31 list!

      • Hello my sweet young friend,
        I so enjoy reading your blog. But cheer up. Life is ahead not behind. Here is my thought for you – From the Scriptures:
        “Keep PY as the apple of Your eye. (Ps. 17:8)
        “Turn to PY and be gracious to her. (Ps 25:16)
        “Surround PY with songs of deliverance. (Ps. 32:7)
        But most important – “…may she be spiritually minded, which is life and peace.” (Romans 8:6b)
        In Him,
        TAS

      • Thank you for the encouragement. I think the 30’s are going to be my favorite decade ever and I can’t wait for all the adventures that are in store for me!

Leave a Reply

